Skip to content
April 15, 2015 / Ryan Edward Roberts

War Dogs Are Not Heros


I just read a really good article where the author argued that dogs used in war, “war dogs”, are heroes and deserve to be treated as such.

I love dogs. I have always had at least one. I am pro dog! But these dogs are not heroes. What they are are a good breed trained well. Yes i know they do awesome things. They truly do. They sometimes develop strong attachments to their handler. They protect, they fight.
image

A hero knows what they are getting into and makes a decision to do what needs to be done regardless of the knowledge that it may kill them. They aren’t simply obeying a command. They aren’t just doing what they were trained to do. That training helps them complete their task and stay alive, but they become a hero when they DECIDE to go above and beyond what their survival instincts tell them to do.

I don’t think a dog is capable of mentally calculating and making such decisions. It is an insult to all actual heroes to say that what a well-trained animal did was equally significant.

But i do love my dog.

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. childthatcares / Apr 15 2015 9:44 pm

    I agree, and I also think that using a dog in war period, though they may be useful, is not very fair. I understand why they do it, but I don’t necessarily agree with it.

  2. nadialouisebotha / Apr 14 2016 4:04 am

    They might not all be heroes in that light, but when dogs obey their orders, they do it out of pure devotion and selflessness towards their master. They will do anything their ‘owner’ taught them to do.
    My dog is busy training now, and while I understand what you mean when you say they are well trained, I also see so much eagerness from my dog to do what I say, just so that he can get an extra pat on the head from me.
    And this eagerness and devotion towards ‘their’ soldiers puts them in so much danger. And I am sure they know that there is danger; they can sense these things better than humans can. For being so selfless in such harsh circumstances, they are heroes to me.

    If you like to read, grab a copy of “War Dog” by Damien Lewis. His book tells a true story of how a dog went out of his way and risked his own life so many times in order to save his master during WWII. It really is a great story and that dog definitely is a hero in my eyes.

    I do love my dogs too… šŸ™‚

    • Molvar / Apr 14 2016 11:27 am

      I appreciate your thoughtful comments. Our canine friends can show amazing loyalty and love!

Leave a Reply

