Skip to content
July 9, 2017 / Ryan Edward Roberts

Flight Perspectives


I celebrated my 25th anniversary of obtaining my pilot license this spring, quietly, in my mind anyway. Although it is perhaps something to take some pride in, I also don’t really like the fact that it means I’m getting old.

Basically I have lived the same number of years (plus 1) since I achieved getting my wings as I did before it. That scares me, because I thought back then that I had been living a long time, but now looking back these past 25 years seems to have been but a blink of the eye!

This is a picture taken in the spring of 1992 with me and my flight instructor, Tom Reese. Tom owned the airport, and had been a flight instructor during WWII. I remember how I felt on top of the world flying that little airplane. I recall thinking about how old Tom was, and what all flight experiences he might have had. Now I’m just 20 some years away from being what his age was back then. It’s so cliche, but how time flies!

Leave a Reply

